Moth and Tera Race Series

The Moth and Tera race series at Salterns Sailing Club is a fun way for older Salterns members to progress their race techniques in a safe but challenging environment. Organised by the Rear Commodore of Sailing, RS Tera racing is open for all members with Red Pennant or above and Moth racing is open to all members with Blue Pennant or above.

"Not only does Salterns provide the most fun of environments, but it also gives you some of the toughest sailing conditions you can come across, with tricky wind shifts and gusts that you have to learn to deal with. I firmly believe that continuing to sail on the Salterns until I was 16 inspired in me the love of sailing that continues to this day, but also gave me the skills that put me up among the world’s best decision makers in the Laser Radial class on gusty and shifty offshore race days." 
- Hannah Snellgrove, Old Salt and ex-Commodore.

For those new to racing this can seem a bit daunting, but it really isn’t. Even if the sailor doesn’t want to race they can just tag along and sail the course, building skills and experience. You never know they may start passing other boats and catch the racing bug! We strongly recommend taking part. Any questions on the series please speak to the Rear Commodore of Sailing or any member of the Junior Committee.

Moth and Tera Racing

If you would like to start racing a Moth or a Tera then here is your chance! There will be a series of 8 events on various Sundays, from 2pm-4pm, finishing in November with an exciting final.

Those with the best results across the series will be awarded with the RS Tera Trophy or the British Moth Trophy at the Annual Prizegiving .  Prizes will also be awarded for 2nd and 3rd place.

Roll of Honour

Moth Winners 2019:
1st - Marcus Edwards
2nd - Harry West
3rd - Violet Edwards

Tera Winners 2019:
1st - Joe Bewick
2nd - Theo Stevens
3rd - Samuel Pontefract

Moth Winners 2018:
1st - Harry West
2nd - Marcus Edwards
3rd - Emma Breeze

Tera Winners 2018:
1st - Violet Edwards
2nd - Ali Bassett
3rd - Jonty Golling

Moth Winners 2017:
1st - Sammy Griffiths
2nd - Harry Stembridge
3rd - Jack Mans

Tera Winners 2017:
1st - Harry West
2nd - Marcus Edwards
3rd - Violet Edwards

Moth Winners 2016:
1st - Alice Wood
2nd - George Overton
3rd - Freya C

Tera Winners 2016:
1st - Henry Wood
2nd - Henry P
3rd - Ali Bassett

Moth Winners 2015:
1st - Ted Ward
2nd - Freya C
3rd - George

Tera Winners 2015:
1st - Alice Wood
2nd - George Overton
3rd - Jack Mans