Who runs the club

Salterns is a sailing club run by children for children (with some adult help). The club is run by volunteers, with a junior and senior committee, supported by trustees.

Details of the Junior Committee (JC) can be found here »

The Management Committee (MC) is elected each year at the AGM and works hard to ensure all sailors enjoy their time at Salterns in a safe and fun environment. The JC have kindly delegated to the adults the fun tasks of admin, finance and record keeping!

All of the Management Committee are current parent members or honorary past members so understand the workings of the club and JC. All volunteer time out of their already busy lives, some are qualified first aiders and sailing instructors whilst others bring skills such as marketing and finance. Others just want to help out and be a part of a fun team! At least one Committee member is on duty on weekend afternoons up to the summer holidays. Please do ask them for any help you need.

The MC would be delighted to welcome new committee members, the more the merrier! Anyone willing to help run the club or wishing to join the committee please contact the President for more information ([email protected]).

Find Minutes of the Annual General Meetings here.

2021 Management Committee

President: Michelle Ansell
Boats & Maintenance: Trevor Fisher
Junior Liaison Officer: Tim Carnegie
Sailing Officer: Miles Seddon
Treasurer: Ishbel Pontefract
Secretary: Corrie Parkhouse
Membership Secretary: Sarah Robinson 
House: Polly Newbury
General Committee Members: Becky White, Eleanor Mordaunt, Peter Yates

The Management Committee have appointed the following support officers to assist them:

Communications Officer: Amy Grealish
Website Officer: Matthew Pontefract
Bronze  Fleet Coordinator: Tim Carnegie
Duckings & Brass Fleet Coordinator:  Tom Finch
Tera Fleet Coordinator: Ishbel Pontefract
RYA Principal: Neil Wharmby
Chief Instructor: Neil Wharmby
Affiliate Group Liaison Officer: Peter Yates

Child Protection Officers:
Catherine Williamson and Justina Hudson

Salterns is currently looking for volunteers for the following roles, please get in touch with us to find out more:

Maintenance Team:
Event Coordinator:

Fundraising (Children in Need): 
Moppy Camp Co-ordinators:


Roger Wilson, Rory Paton, Neil Wharmby