Management Committee

Salterns is a sailing club run by children for children (with some adult help) and is run by volunteers, with a junior and senior committee, supported by trustees.

Details of the Junior Committee can be found here >>

The Management Committee can be full, family or honorary members of Salterns who have volunteered to help the Junior Committee run the Club.  The Management Committee is elected each year at the AGM.  This group works hard to ensure all sailors enjoy their time at Salterns in a safe and fun environment.   The Junior Committee have kindly delegated to the adults the fun tasks of admin, finance and record keeping!

All of the Management Committee are current parent members or honorary past members so understand the many joys and frustrations that come with developing this unique life skill.   Many are qualified first aiders and sailing instructors.  At least one Committee member is on duty on weekend afternoons except August during the season.  Please do ask them for any help you need.

Management Committee for 2017 are:
: Phil Lightbody
Vice President:  Craig Stewart
Commodore:  George Perera
Vice Commodores:
Amy Tunney and Alex Paton
Rear Commodores Sailing:  George Overton and Alice Wood
: Dominic  Patten   Contact
Rear Commodore House:  Nicola West
Honorary Secretary: Paula Tait
Membership Secretary: Paul McStay Contact:
Bosun: Marcus Melanaphy
Junior Liaison Officer: Helen Wood
Associate Liaison:  Martin Lightbody
Fundraising:  Meryl Armitage
Bronze Fleet: Phil Lightbody
General Committee Members: Paul Harrison, Aggie Edwards, Neil Jenkins, Chubby Russell
RYA Principal:  David Simpson (also Chief Instructor)
Past Commodore:  Millie Melanaphy

Roger Wilson
Tony Harris
Geoff Dudley

Anyone willing to help run the club or wishing to join the committee please contact Phil Lightbody for more information  (email him  here).